Chester Bennington Leave the Rest of Us

maxresdefault

On the morning of 20th of July, the Chester Bennington, one of the lead vocalist of a famous alternative-rock band Linkin Park was found dead in his home. When the word spreads out, Linkin Park is not the same anymore.

It’s been known for a long-time that Chester Bennington has been fighting his depression and even resorted into drugs. But Mike Shinoda and the rest of his bandmates didn’t leave him. Instead, they helped him to recover and straighten up. My brother and I even thought the guys let him express all his depressions thru writing music which resulted into a several number chart-topping songs. But depression has given him a hard battle until he finally dropped his mic.

when-im-writing-im-constantly-thinking-about-myself-because-its-the-only-ex-403x403-nkb6nb

***

It’s not the way that Chester Bennington was killed. It’s the depression he’s been fighting for several years that killed him. When you got depression, your own demons emerge. Those kind of demons will whisper things negatively, will pushed you to hell, will insult you, belittle you, will make you feel so worthless and useless, will blind you from all the good things in life and make sure you don’t deserve them at all.

Depression is a mental sickness and it’s not as simple as having a bad hair day that you can sleep over night or can be replaced easily by eating, nonstop shopping or workout. It’s more than that.

I’ve been in that phase before. I was totally depressed and thought all the hope is gone, and everything will be alright and done if I will erase my own existence to this world. Yeah, I’ve become so numb that I can’t feel anymore. I’m like dead already but still breathing. It’s so frustrating why I’m still alive when everything remains to be messy and keeps getting worse day by day. I even planned to commit suicide – either cutting the veins on my wrist or be hit by a truck in the middle of the road. That’s how depression can overpower the human sanity.

But I survived that phase. With the help my family. They didn’t ask me what’s wrong with me. They’re just there, understanding me. They didn’t tell me anything like everything’s going to be alright or I can do it. No. They’re just there. They knew I was having a hard time. I even look like I’m suicidal to them. But they stayed with me and tried to understand what I’m going through until one day I woke up and I felt glad I’m still alive and got a new more positive outlook.

I am totally sure Chester’s family and friends, and his Linkin Park buddies continously make him feel alive. But unlike me, he got more demons than mine he’s fighting. He defeated one or two demons yet there’s a lot of them he can’t handle. I think it was too much for him. And to add his depression the passing of his dear friend who is also a musician hit him so hard.

***

When my brother told me he’s gone. I was shocked. I thought at first it was a hoax like what’s been done to several celebrities. But he’s serious. Chester Bennington was found hanging and we are both devastated.

We’ve been a fan of Linkin Park since the release of ‘In The End,’ and Chester’s vocals is undeniably unique and one-in-a-million that we easily loved so the news of him passing away is really hard to digest.

The first song that came to my mind about his passing is ”Leave Out All the Rest” from Linkin Park’s Minutes to Midnight Album and chorus of the song is exactly his final words to the people he left behind.

“When my time comes
Forget the wrong I’ve done
Help me leave behind
Some reasons to be missed.
Don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest.”

If I would answer this specific part of this song it would be like this.

His time has come, and the wrong thing he has done is taking his life by his own hand will be understood. And there’s no reason for him to asked for help about the reasons to miss about him because he has a lot of things, through his music, to be left for us.

No, we, the fans, and all the people who loves him won’t resent him in what he did. He may left us heartbroken but he will be forever remembered. We just have now have to accept his decision and leave out all the rest.

***

Have a peaceful rest, Chester Bennington. You will always and forever be remembered. We may be heartbroken now but we will get by. And we will help those people who is in the same situation as you had.

Good bye. And thank you for giving  a piece of yourself to us. We love you!

Chester Bennington of Linkin Park Portrait Session

Leave a Reply

