Stumbling on the Block

quote-pearl-cleage-many-times-what-people-call-writers-block-221875

What is Writer’s Block?

According to Wikipedia, Writer’s block is a condition, primarily associated with writing, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work, or experiences a creative slowdown. In my case, I’m on the latter situation.

I am still working on a story I’ll submit for a competition. My deadline for this story is by the end of this month and I’m not yet at the half of the required word count. Nonetheless, the time pressure didn’t get into me. Instead, I’m focusing on the progress of my heroine in facing her life. She’s now on the point of making a new acquaintance which is not really her forte because of some complicated circumstances. Anyway, she met a new person. At first I thought, this is going to be her new and first friend. But as I sleep it over, a scary idea(yes, scary because it’s going to be ugly) pops out of my head. That new person will make my heroine more frozen towards everybody.

Now, here’s the problem. I’m having a full halt right now in building up my heroine and the new character’s relationship because I have to break them, emotionally, apart and loses each other in a regretful manner. I’m scared to make them happy and create a good memories for them, and then I’ll make them cry in the end. I felt awful to do that to the point I’m not going to write it anymore for their sake, and I think it’s a kind of writer’s block.

slide068

Should I look for another way to make things easy for my heroine? Of course, not. I’m a writer and I have to make my heroine’s character grow in facing her fears. Besides, getting them together and tearing them apart is my only option to make a progress because if I didn’t, my whole idea of her story will be boring and I don’t want my future reader’s to feel that. And also, as a writer who give life to this female character, I owe them a good journey and good journey includes of pain and heart break.

d3a0c40226ba2ba9977659021563bf6e

And that’s it. I just write a post here because I felt like I have to let it out before I dive in into the ugly process of making them sad and regretful.

Leave a Reply

