Take Away from NaNoWriMo 2016

stephen-king-quote1

First three days of the month I converted my ideas into words, and on the fourth day I stopped until procrastination succumbed me and I’m not proud of it.

NaNoWriMo Status: FAIL

To be honest, I doubted(again) my ability in telling a story. I guess I’m kinda impatient that deep down inside I don’t want to do a lot of hard work and I want to magic things so I can get over with it. I suck, I know it. I guess, I’m dead tired already in doing all the hard work where I’m helping my mother in running our little store, baby sitting to my niece and nephew, and finishing all the chores at home that I don’t have enough energy anymore to write the stories in my head and I want to sleep until it’s morning already and then repeat.

yui-hirasawa-k-on

This is Hirasawa Yui from the anime K-ON! Basically, this is me when I’m tired from doing the same task everyday and I can’t write a single paragraph of a story anymore. 😦

It’s so hard to be me but if I would think carefully, the well-known authors of today like Stephen King, J.K. Rowling I’m pretty sure what I’m going through right now is not even a fourth of what they’ve gone through to be successful today. I’m pretty sure they went through a lot of rejections and failures, fears and anxieties, but they didn’t stop in writing the stories they wanted to tell.

 

oa2m4jnr5554b21dec89d363900755.jpg

So, what’s next after failing my first ever NaNoWriMo challenge?

  1. WRITE. Continue to write again and again and again and again. I realized I can start a story in whatever time, place, or moment I want because eventually I will also reach the destination I wanted to go to.
  2. BE COURAGEOUS. Face your fear. We all have kinds of emotions and thoughts we all hid in the very corner of our heart or soul and we don’t want them come to the light because, probably, it will jeopardize the comfort of our situation right now. But it will surged up little by little, one by one, and will be portrayed by the characters we created and they’re going to be our mirror of what we feared to face. I don’t know if someone would understand what I’m saying about being courageous in writing but that’s what I’m feeling these past couple of weeks when I’m not writing.
  3. PRAY. Whatever religion you have, you must pray. Why? Because writers also needs a divine intervention despite all the hard work we inserted in writing a story, most especially if we want it to be published. Believe me, when I’m writing my first novel I make sure I go to church once a week to attend the novena and wishing that my work would be published once I submitted it. Well, the publisher got interested in the story I made, one month after I submitted it. It was just returned to me to revised it. I got into revising mode and I stop praying. The result – I didn’t finished the revised story and my road to be a published writer went into chaos. So pray, it works. *wink*
  4. To follow. Hahahaha.

That’s it. These is my take away’s for the whole month of November.

Leave a Reply

