During NaNoWriMo

This is the first time I joined the NaNoWriMo. So far, I just produced 2K+ words, and if I’m following the quota per day I’m so left behind. For nine days I suddenly found myself doubting myself and my ability to write. Can I really do this? Do I really have the ability to produce a good story? I wrote my thoughts and my feelings on my journal and I addressed God if the path I’m taking is the right one. It’s kind of depressing since God won’t answer back like as if I texted him and He would immediately reply. But as I finally wrote down what’s bothering me I found – more likely, realized what kind of attitude should I possess as a writer, and that is PATIENCE.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, a writer should be patient. Telling a story isn’t as easy as writing an alphabet. Telling a story through words needs a lot of hard work like everybody else working in different kind of industry. Writers don’t get successful right away. A lot of failures and disappointments must be faced first as a learning process before getting published. But if we have PATIENCE along it’s twin called HARD WORK which is a relative to OPTIMISM, for sure every thing will be paid off in right time. Oh, and don’t forget to PRAY. Believe me, when we all need a divine intervention especially when submitting the manuscript to the publisher. I did it years ago and after one month I received a positive feedback but because of a lot of distractions and disappointing remarks from my parents(they don’t support my craft) I gave up revising my novel. But here I am again, trying again to write and this time I won’t back down despite the ugly perception of my parents.

So, this is the start of my adventure as writer. And I hope I can finally reached my destination as a published person. Though, I also have a dream to be a screenwriter but, of course, one step a time. ^^

After this post, I’ll sleep for a few hours and then I’ll go back and continue to keep up writing for NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

